Cities are refitting

Communal Street Lighting

LED technology has long been an integral part of lighting. Compared to traditional mercury vapor lamps, LED modules impress with their significantly higher efficiency, lower maintenance or energy costs as well as high CO2 savings - in short, with a better ecological balance. The LED has therefore established itself in outdoor lighting and is always the first choice in new building areas.

But what happens to the many lighting systems that have been installed for decades and still use the old technology far from LED or intelligent lighting control? There is an enormous savings potential, which more and more cities are now using. However, the monetary added value of such an investment only becomes apparent years later, because the purchase and installation of new LED light fittings is initially associated with costs. 

Förderprogramme

In order to support the municipalities in Germany, conversions of old systems in the area of municipal street lighting are supported by the "Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU)" in addition to federal-specific support programs in the form of the "Kommunalrichtlinie". The current version currently sees a subsidy from up to 30% of eligible expenditure by 2022.



Please check for support programmes in your country. 

In the course of the German government's Corona economic stimulus package, the conditions for applicants were significantly improved and funding quotas increased. Take advantage of this opportunity and secure up to 50% funding now 1!
Minimize your investment costs, make massive savings in future on energy costs and permanently and sustainably reduce climate-damaging CO<sub>2</sub> emissions.

1 Only in 2021 thanks to cumulative federal and state funding.

Some cities recognised the need for conversion at an early stage and modernised their lighting systems, but for most of them there is still an enormous need for action. If a city is to be converted, it quickly becomes a major project of several years that has to be successively implemented: for example from the city centre to the residential streets up to urban buildings, or in stages for each district.
SCHUCH offers a comprehensive portfolio of technical and decorative outdoor light fittings as well as modern light management solutions and therefore the right light for every application - everything from a single source! 

Smart • Flexible • Future-proof

Light only where it is needed and only as long as it is needed.
Modern lighting technology is now meeting this high standard. The limits of rigid “switching on and off” have long been broken and light management systems are on the move. Demand-oriented light is not only extremely comfortable, it also enables optimal use of the efficiency potential of LED technology and maximum cost savings. The ecological aspect, for example in nature reserves, is also playing an increasingly important role. Many reasons not only to convert to LED lights, but to smartly controlled LED lights.

Wiesloch (Germany) goes all out - 3,400 LED luminaires from SCHUCH provide more safety and improve the ecological balance

A major project with a volume of around 2.5 million euros, which has been successively implemented since 2015 and successfully completed in 2019. In addition to the modern LED outdoor light fittings of series 47 and 48 for traffic roads and the more classic LED outdoor light fittings of series 541 for the inner city area, around 170 intelligently controlled LED street light fittings were also installed, especially along cycle paths.
“The results are really more than impressive,” proudly said Mayor Dirk Elkemann.

The exchange of the city lighting system leads to higher energy efficiency as well as higher level of environmental and climate protection and will pay off in the long run. An investment in the future, which SCHUCH as a competent partner, was significantly involved. 

SCHUCH light fittings of series 48 illuminate this residential area

Intelligent cycle path illumination thanks to LMS series

Light on Demand with LIMAS components
More about light management

Series 541 cuts a fine figure, especially in old town areas
More about series 541

As a technical outdoor light fitting, series 47 ensures perfect street lighting.
More about series 47

Intelligent lighting concept for the city of Chur and 120 km of roads

The city of Chur in Switzerland has a large network of public roads, of which around 120 km were illuminated with old high pressure sodium vapour or mercury vapour lamps. It was also a matter of eliminating these energy guzzlers as quickly as possible within 5 years, reducing energy consumption and gradually converting the entire street lighting system to an intelligent LED lighting system.

"I am proud that we are installing a complete system that has left the successful testing phase behind, but is still pioneering. This not only saves enormous energy and maintenance costs, it also increases traffic safety and stops light pollution, ”said Martin Derungs, Managing Director of IBC in Chur.

With this project (at that time the largest LIMAS light management system project for SCHUCH), which was implemented in cooperation with the Swiss partner REGENT, SCHUCH has established itself as a competent partner in this area.

More than 3,000 SCHUCH light fittings of series 47 and 48

with the light management system LIMAS were installed since 2015.

As a browser-based solution with gateways, they are spread across the city,

generate needs-based light and save energy costs.

Light on Demand with LIMAS components
More about light management

Städte rüsten um

Kommunale Straßenbeleuchtung

Die LED-Technologie ist aus der Beleuchtung schon lange nicht mehr wegzudenken. Im Vergleich zu althergebrachten Quecksilberdampflampen bestechen LED-Module durch ihre erheblich höhere Effizienz, niedrigere Wartungs-bzw. Energiekosten, sowie hohe CO2 Einsparung–kurzum mit einer besseren Ökobilanz. Die LED hat sich daher in der Außenbeleuchtung durchgesetzt und ist in Neubaugebieten stets die erste Wahl.

Doch was geschieht mit den vielen Beleuchtungsanlagen, die bereits seit Jahrzehnten installiert sind und sich noch der alten Technologie fern ab von LED oder intelligenter Lichtsteuerung bedienen?
Gerade hier schlummert ein enormes Einsparpotenzial, das jetzt immer mehr Städte nutzen. Der monetäre Mehrwert einer solchen Umrüstung zeigt sich allerdings erst Jahre später, denn die Anschaffung und Installation neuer LED-Leuchten ist erst einmal mit Kosten verbunden.

Förderprogramme

Um die Kommunen hierbei zu unterstützen, werden Umrüstungen von Altanlagen im Bereich der kommunalen Straßenbeleuchtung neben länderspezifischen Förderprogrammen vor allem vom Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit (BMU) in Form der ‘Kommunalrichtlinie’ gefördert.
Minimieren Sie Ihre Investitionskosten, sparen Sie zukünftig massiv bei den Energiekosten und senken Sie die klimaschädlichen CO2-Emissionen dauerhaft und nachhaltig.

Nähere Informationen zu den Fördermaßnahmen auf Bundes- und Länderebene finde Sie hier.

Einige Städte haben den Umrüstungsbedarf schon früh erkannt und ihre Beleuchtungsanlagen modernisiert, doch bei den Meisten gibt es noch enormen Handlungsbedarf. Will eine Stadt umrüsten, so wird daraus schnell ein Großprojekt von mehreren Jahren, das sukzessive umgesetzt werden muss: beispielsweise von der Innenstadt über die Anliegerstraßen bis hin zu städtischen Gebäuden, oder auch etappenweise pro Ortsteil.
Als Lichttechnische Spezialfabrik bietet SCHUCH ein umfassendes Portfolio an technischen und dekorativen Außenleuchten sowie modernen Lichtmanagementlösungen und somit für jeden Anwendungsbereich die passende Leuchte – alles aus einer Hand!

Smart • Flexibel • Zukunftssicher

Licht nur dort, wo es gebraucht wird und nur so lange es erforderlich ist.
Diesem hohen Anspruch wird die moderne Beleuchtungstechnik mittlerweile gerecht. Die Grenzen des starren „Ein-Aus-Schaltens“ sind längst durchbrochen und Lichtmanagementsysteme halten Einzug. Bedarfsgerechtes Licht ist dabei nicht nur äußerst komfortabel, sondern ermöglicht zudem die optimale Ausschöpfung der Effizienzpotenziale der LED-Technologie und zugleich maximale Kostenersparnis. Auch der ökologische Aspekt, beispielsweise in Naturschutzgebieten, spielt immer öfter eine Rolle. Viele Gründe, nicht nur auf LED-Leuchten, sondern gleich auf smart gesteuertes LED-Licht umzurüsten.

Wiesloch geht aufs Ganze - 3.400 LED-Leuchten der Firma SCHUCH bringen mehr Sicherheit und verbessern die Ökobilanz

Ein Großprojekt mit einem Volumen von rund 2,5 Millionen Euro das seit 2015 sukzessive in die Tat umgesetz und 2019 erfolgreich abgeschlossen werden konnte. Neben den modernen LED-Außenleuchten der Baureihen 47 und 48 an Verkehrsstraßen und den etwas klassischeren LED-Pilzleuchte 541 im Innenstadtbereich wurden auch rund 170 intelligent gesteuerte LED-Straßenleuchten insbesondere entlang des Radwegs montiert.
„Die Ergebnisse können sich wirklich mehr als sehen lassen“, berichtet Oberbürgermeister Dirk Elkemann stolz.

Ganz Wiesloch rückt sich mit dem Austausch der Stadtbeleuchtung in ein energieeffizientes Licht, das Umwelt- und Klimaschutzbelange berücksichtigt und sich auf Dauer bezahlt machen wird. Eine Investition in die Zukunft, die SCHUCH als kompetenter Partner maßgeblich mitbegleiten durfte.

SCHUCH-Leuchten der Baureihe 48 beleuchten dieses Wohngebiet

Intelligente Radweg - Beleuchtung dank LMS Ausführung

LIMAS - Komponenten machen die Beleuchtung bedarfsgerecht
Erfahren Sie mehr zum Thema Lichtmanagement

Eine ausgesprochen gute Figur - vor allem in Altstadtbereichen
Mehr zur Baureihe 541

Als technische Außenleuchte sorgt sie für die optimale Straßenbeleuchtung
Mehr zur Baureihe 47

Intelligentes Beleuchtungskonzept für die Stadt Chur und damit rund 120 km Wege- und Straßennetz

Die Stadt Chur in der Schweiz verfügt über ein großes öffentliches Wege- und Straßennetz, wovon rund 120 km mit alten Natriumdampf- bzw. Quecksilberdampf-Hochdrucklampen beleuchtet wurden. Auch dort galt es innerhalb von 5 Jahren diese Energiefresser schnellstmöglich zu eliminieren, den Energieverbrauch zu senken und die gesamte Straßenbeleuchtung etappenweise auf ein intelligentes LED-System umzurüsten.

„Ich bin stolz darauf, dass wir ein Gesamtsystem installieren welches die erfolgreiche Erprobungsphase hinter sich gelassen, aber dennoch Pioniercharakter hat. Damit werden nicht nur enorme Energie- und Unterhaltskosten eingespart, sondern auch die Verkehrssicherheit erhöht und der Lichtverschmutzung Einhalt geboten“, so Martin Derungs, Geschäftsführer von IBC in Chur zu Beginn.

Mit diesem bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt größten Projekt für LED-Leuchten mit dem Lichtmanagementsystem LIMAS, das zusammen mit dem Schweizer Partner REGENT realisiert wurde, hat sich SCHUCH auch auf diesem Gebiet als kompetenter Partner etabliert.

Mehr als 3.000 SCHUCH Leuchten der Baureihe 47 und 48 mit dem

Lichtmanagementsystem LIMAS wurden seit 2015 installiert.

Als Browser-basierte Lösung mit Gateways sind sie über die Stadt verteilt,

erzeugen bedarfsgerechtes Licht und senken die Energiekosten.

LIMAS - Komponenten machen die Beleuchtung bedarfsgerecht
Erfahren Sie mehr zum Thema Lichtmanagement